Solutions Through IT

April 21, 2013

Automatically empty the Deleted Items In Outlook 2010/2013 and don’t prompt

Filed under: Office, Outlook, Outlook 2010, Outlook 2013, Troubleshooting — solutionsthroughit @ 13:41

[TLDR; Scroll down to see how to disable the notification asking you if you’re sure you want to delete mail in the deleted items.   Click File | Options | Advanced | {Section Other} Un-tick Prompt for confirmation before permanently deleting items | {Section Outlook start and exit} Tick Empty Deleted Items folders when exiting Outlook]

I’m one of those weird individuals who considers the “trash” or recycle bin, to be a transition to actually throwing files out.  These are files that you’re pretty sure that you want to get rid of, so you’ve put them in a waste receptacle.  If you absolutely HAVE to get something out, you can.  It’s not a filing system.  I also believe that you should also empty the trash on a fairly regular basis, so when I put mail into the deleted items in Outlook, I figure that when I shut down outlook, that would be a good time to “take out the trash”.  Because I do this so infrequently, I needed to post this to remind me!

Select File and Options

SNAGHTML4ee37db

Select the Advanced tab on the left, and scroll down to the Outlook start and exit section and Tick Empty Deleted Items from folders when exiting Outlook

SNAGHTML4ed33b6

Scroll further down to the Other section.  Un-tick Prompt for confirmation before permanently deleting items

SNAGHTML4ed966e

Click the OK button, and you have completed configuring Empty Deleted Items without prompting for confirmation.

Advertisements

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

%d bloggers like this: